Sacramental Program - Welcome

Click here to download our Welcome to the Sacramental Program fact sheet (PDF 214.5KB)

 

Welcome to the Sacramental Program for 2022 - 2023

The Program at North Harbour Parish is parish based, family centred, and school supported and aims to support you and your family while you grow together in the knowledge and expression of your faith.

This brochure sets out the dates and requirements for the preparation and celebration of the Sacraments of Confirmation, First Reconciliation and First Communion during 2022 - 2023.

Parents new to the program are invited to attend a SACRAMENTAL PROGRAM OVERVIEW Meeting to gain an understanding of the program, timeline, and process.

When enrolling your child in the Children’s Sacramental Program please complete and online enrolment form (details of link to come) provide a copy of your child’s Baptismal Certificate (if not baptised at St Kieran’s or St Cecilia’s Churches)

Families are encouraged to attend weekend Masses (especially those with a Children’s Liturgy of the Word/family focus) particularly during the preparation period for each of the Sacraments.

If your child has special needs, we seek to accommodate them in our program so that they may be welcomed and participate in the program in the most appropriate way for them. Please contact Janette for more information (see details below).

The parish also offers a preparation program for families (where one or both parents are Catholic) with:

  • children aged seven years and older who are not baptised and would like to receive the Sacrament of Baptism.
  • children who have been baptised into another Christian denomination who wish to be received into the Catholic Church and participate in the Sacramental Program.

If neither parent is Catholic, we still welcome your enquiry and we are happy to discuss this further with you.

The parish also accommodates any children/young people/adults who have been baptised Catholic who may not have received all the sacraments and parents who may wish to become a Catholic.

See website for further information about the Sacramental Program and updates to the program or contact Janette Davidson on 0408 866 521 or via email at sacraments@northharbourcatholic.org.au


SACRAMENTAL PROGRAM OVERVIEW Parent Meeting for parents new to the program

TUES 10 MAY, 9.30am -10.30am or
WED 11 MAY, 7.00pm - 8.00pm
ST KIERAN’S CHURCH


CONFIRMATION (2022)

Children must be baptised and be eight years of age or older (from Year 3). Ideally Confirmation should be the first Sacrament celebrated after Baptism.

Enrolment for 2022 -2023 Sacramental Program:
Online from 9 May until 10 June
Parents sign up to participate with their child in family group home sessions and provide documentation (including a copy of baptismal certificate if baptized outside the North Harbour Parish).

SACRAMENTAL PROGRAM OVERVIEW Parent Meeting for parents new to the program. How do we accompany our children in the program as parents, parish and school? (See right in box at the top of centre column)

CONFIRMATION INFORMATION SESSION FOR PARENTS (approx. 1 hour):
Tues 7 June, 9.30am OR
Wed 8 June, 7.00pm both in SK Church.
Group Facilitator Training:
Tues 7 June, 10.30am OR
Wed 8 June, 8.00pm both in SK Church.

Presentation Mass: attend any of the Masses.
Sat 23 July OR Sun 24 July.

Family Preparation Group Sessions:
These are held in homes/Parish Centre from 9 June to 7 August.

Ritual of the Creed:
attend any of the Masses.
Sat 30 July OR Sun 31 July.

Practice:
Tues 9 August, 4.00pm in SK OR 7.00pm in SC Church
Wed 10 August, 7.00pm in SK Church.

Celebration of the Sacrament of Confirmation
Sat 13 August at 10am in SK Church
12 noon in SC Church, 3pm in SK Church and 5pm in SC Church

FIRST RECONCILIATION (2023)

Children must be nine years of age or older (from Year 4). Reconciliation (also known as Penance or Confession) is celebrated before First Communion. Ideally Confirmation would be celebrated first.

FIRST RECONCILIATION INFORMATION SESSION FOR PARENTS (approx. 1 hour):
Tues 7 February, 9.30am OR
Wed 8 February, 7.00pm both in SK Church.
Group Facilitator Meeting:
Tues 7 February, 10.30 am OR
Wed 8 February, 8.00pm both in SK Church.

Family Preparation Group Sessions:
These are held in homes/Parish Centre from 9 February to 14 March.

Ritual of the Cross: attend any of the Masses Sat 25 February Vigil OR Sun 26 February

Practice:
Tues 14 March at 4pm in SK Church OR Wed 15 March at 7pm in SC Church

Celebration of Sacrament of First Reconciliation
Tues 21 March at 7.00pm in SC
Wed 22 March at 4pm and 7.00pm both in SK
Thurs 23 March at 7.00pm in SK
Tues 28 March at 7.00pm in SC Wed 29 March at 4.00pm in SC

FIRST COMMUNION (EUCHARIST) (2023)

Children must be nine years of age or older (from Year 4). Ideally Confirmation and Reconciliation would be celebrated first.

FIRST COMMUNION INFORMATION SESSION FOR PARENTS (approx. 1 hour):
Tues 2 May, 9.30am OR
Wed 3 May, 7.00pm both in SK Church.
Group Facilitator Meeting:
Tue 2 May, 10.30am in SK Church OR
Wed 3 May, 8.00pm both in SK Church.

Family Preparation Group Sessions:
These are held in homes/Parish Centre from 4 May to 5 June.

Ritual of Our Father: attend any of the Masses
Sat 27 May OR Sun 28 May

Practice:
Tues 6 June, 4.00pm OR 7.00pm in SC Church OR
Wed 7 June, 4.00pm OR 7.00pm in SK Church.

Celebration of the Sacrament of First Communion
Sat 10 June SK 5.30pm
Sun 11 June SC 9.00am SK 9.30am - long weekend
Sat 17 June SK 5.30pm
Sun 18 June SC 9.00am SK 9.30am

Sat 24 June SK 5.30pm
Sun 25 June SC 9.00am SK 9.30am