What is the Synod?

What is the Synod 21-24?

The Synod 2021-2024 is a process by which the Universal Church is drawn together to pray, journey, listen and gather, to discern how to move forward as a Church, to make Her more successful in Her mission to proclaim the Gospel.

In this synodal process, the whole Church community is called together to pray, listen, analyse, dialogue, discern and offer advice on making pastoral decisions which correspond as closely as possibly to God’s will.

Synodal Journey

Diocesan Phase

Pope Francis officially opened the Synodal process on 10 October 2021 at the Vatican, initiating the Diocesan phase of the Synod. During this period, Diocese’ were asked to consult with the people and groups of their Diocese, synthesizing their thoughts and conclusions into a document which could be tabled at the Continental Phase.

Continental Phase

The Continental Phase began in September 2022. The aim of this phase was the better substantiate and flesh out the insights coming from the local churches, within a continental perspective. Each Continental Assembly then drafted their own final document, reflecting the voice of God’s people within the continent, which would be offered together with the Diocesan consultation documents.

Concluding Phase (CURRENT PHASE)

The Synod is currently in its Concluding Phase with the Sixteenth Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops. 364 participants are taking part in this phase, including 70 non-bishops (including deacons, priests, consecrated men and women, and Catholic laity). The participants will work from and respond to Instrumentum Laboris, a document which synthesises responses and identifies priorities from across the Synodal process.